Airbnb is a service that allows property owners to rent their spaces to travelers who are looking for a place to stay during their trip. Unfortunately, some Airbnb hosts may fail to ensure that their property is safe before their customers begin their stay. When Airbnb hosts fail to provide their customers with a safe space, accidents are likely to happen. If you have been injured in an Airbnb accident, it is important that you learn about Airbnb’s Host Protection Insurance to discover if you are qualified for compensation. To learn more about your eligibility to recover compensation for your damages, reach out to our experienced Florida personal injury attorney.
What is Airbnb’s host protection insurance?
Airbnb offers Host Protection Insurance for the hosts of their Airbnb listings. If you have been injured in an Airbnb accident, Airbnb covers the first $1 million of compensation, rather than the host or landlord of the property. However, this first $1 million in coverage does not cover accidents that have occurred under the following circumstances:
- Injuries caused by intentional acts
- Lost wages as a result of injuries
- Contractual liability
- injuries sustained due to a guest’s intoxication
- Communicable diseases
Am I qualified for compensation after an Airbnb accident?
If $1 million does not cover the entirety of your injuries’ cost such as hospital bills and surgery, it is important that you retain the services of an experienced personal injury attorney. An attorney will work to recover the additional compensation you require to heal. An attorney will work to prove that your injuries were caused by the host or landlord’s negligence. They will also work to obtain further evidence of the accident such as surveillance footage of the accident as it happened, medical documentation, police reports, witness statements, and pictures of the safety hazard that caused the accident.
What is the statute of limitations for Airbnb accidents in Florida?
The statute of limitations for personal injury claims is generally four years in Florida. It is important that you file your claim within four years of the date of your accident to avoid being permanently time-barred from taking legal action. The sooner you can file your claim, the better. To get started with this process as soon as possible, reach out to our dedicated Florida personal injury attorney. Our legal team will work to satisfy the burden of proof to recover the compensation you deserve.
Contact Our Experienced Florida Firm
If you have been injured in an accident due to no fault of your own, you need an attorney who truly cares about your right to heal. Merricks Law Group handles a wide array of injury claims, including injuries sustained in auto accidents, slip and falls, and more. Contact Merricks Law Group today.