If you have been involved in a car accident while in an Uber/Lyft, you are likely looking to recover compensation for your damages. To learn more about taking legal action after an Uber/Lyft accident, continue reading and reach out to our experienced Florida personal injury attorney.
What are the most common causes of car accidents?
There are many factors that can cause car accidents such a poor road or weather conditions and faulty car parts. However, the majority of car accidents and unfortunately caused by driver negligence. The most common forms of negligence behind the wheel are as follows:
- Driving under the influence
- Distracted driving
- Drowsy driving
- Failing to follow the rules of the road
If your accident was caused by your rideshare driver’s negligence, you are likely eligible to recover compensation in a personal injury claim. Reach out to our attorney to learn more about filing our claim and how we can help.
What is the Uber/Lyft liability coverage system?
Uber/Lyft has a liability coverage system. This system outlines the financial assistance that Uber/Lyft will owe to those who have sustained injuries in an Uber/Lyft accident:
- Period 0: Period 0 is when an Uber/Lyft driver has not logged into the rideshare app and was involved in an accident, Uber/Lyft will not provide coverage.
- Period 1: Period 1 is when the Uber/Lyft driver is involved in an accident and is logged into the app but has not accepted a ride, the company will provide liability coverage of up to $50,000 per person injured in the accident, $100,000 total injury liability per accident, and $25,000 property damage liability.
- Period 2: Period 2 is when the driver is involved in an accident after accepting a trip and is en route to the passenger’s location, Uber/Lyft’s liability cover increases to $1 million.
- Period 3: Period 3 is when the passenger is in the rideshare car at the time of the accident occurring, Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage is up to $1 million as well as additional limited coverage for damage to the driver’s car and the uninsured motorists’ coverage.
What is the statute of limitations for personal injury claims after an Uber/Lyft accident in Florida?
The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Florida is generally two years. This means that you will have two years from the date of your accident to bring attention to your claim by retaining the services of an experienced attorney. It is important to know that if you fail to file your claim within this timeframe, this may result in you being permanently time-barred from suing. To avoid this and to get started as soon as possible, reach out to an experienced personal injury attorney today.
Contact Our Experienced Florida Firm
If you have been injured in an accident due to no fault of your own, you need an attorney who truly cares about your right to heal. Merricks Law Group handles a wide array of injury claims, including injuries sustained in auto accidents, slip and falls, and more. Contact Merricks Law Group today.